Skip to content



To communicate is to impart or exchange information or news.

a) Why communication is important in relationships

People who communicate share a part of themselves with others. They express their feelings and thoughts on different topics. “Communication is a key to a good relationship.” (Mandy Moore) To understand and be understood it is important to communicate properly.

b) Verbal and Non-Verbal Communication

The verbal and non verbal communication are equally important to relay information. When people don’t use their voice to express what they are thinking or feeling, their actions can do it instead. The verbal and Non-Verbal  communication work together to emphasize an important message.

c) Communication in formal and semi-formal communities

Formal communication is one that passes through predefined channels of communication throughout the organization, while a semi-formal style is used for communicating with people you do not know well or who are outside your regular working relations. Basically, the style you choose depends on the audience with which you are interacting.

d) What are the 5 love languages?

The 5 love languages are: words of affirmation, quality time, acts of services, gifts, and physical touch.

i) Words of affirmation

Words of affirmation are any spoken or written words that confirm, support, uplift, and empathize with another person in a positive manner. It is important to learn how to show love to people around us. A simple “I am praying for you” , “I am proud of you” can melt someone’s heart, and enhance his/her day. Never hesitate to use your words to show love.

ii) Quality time

Quality time refers to showing love and affection by spending dedicated time together. Jesus spent quality time with his disciples. He spent time teaching them, praying with them. As Christian we need to spend quality time with God but also with people around us. An afternoon of laughter with a loved one is a way to boost the person up and also relieve stress.

iii) Acts of services

An act of service is the physical expression of a thoughtful gesture. When around people you love, take initiative to help with some of their responsibilities and burdens, this will make them feel taken care of, safe, and loved in return. Helping your mom with the house chores without her asking for instance, will bring so much happiness and peace to her heart.

iv) Gifts

Gifts is a pretty straightforward love language, it’s giving “visual symbols of love.” Learn to express love with a gift by actually giving the person what they want, not just on a big occasion but as a kind gesture.

v) Physical touch

It refers to expressing and receiving affection through touch, physical closeness, and other forms of physical connection. Learn how to reassure your loved one with a hug or simply holding their hands. Someone who is sad could use a hug to be reassured and know that they are not alone.

e) Communication Breakdown, Noise and barriers

Communication Breakdown, Noise and barriers refers to problems that distort an effective communication. Despite the best intentions of sender and receiver to communicate, several barriers can inhibit the effective exchange of information. One example is perception. Because each person’s  perception is shaped by his/ her personal mental models of how the world works, it is easy to interpret things in their personal manner and not really how the interlocutor expressed it.


Back To Top